Looking to become a social worker in Mississippi? You’ve come to the right spot!  While there are similarities in licensing requirements from state to state, each state is unique. In addition to providing the essentials below, you can click the link we have provided for Mississippi’s official licensing body. There you can find additional information on potential requirements like background checks, state-to-state license transfers, and continuing education requirements. We hope this handy guide assists in your efforts to become a certified social worker in your state!

Image Source

In Mississippi, it is possible to be licensed as a social worker with either a Bachelor’s or Master’s degree from an accredited institution. The designation Licensed Social Worker (LSW) is granted to social workers with Bachelor’s degrees. The designations Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW), and Licensed Certified Social Worker (LCSW) require education at at least the master’s level.

Licensed Social Worker (LSW) is the basic licensing level. The LSW must have a bachelor’s degree in social work from an accredited college or university whose social work program is approved or accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. The candidate for the LSW licensure must pass an exam as prescribed by the Board, then the LSW is prepared to assume the beginning level professional role in public and private social service agencies.

The Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW) must have a master of social work from a college or university approved or accredited by the CSWE. The candidate for licensure at the LMSW level must pass a masters-level exam as prescribed by the Board. An LMSW provides a wide range of services. An LMSW may provide preventive and treatment services pertaining to individuals, families, groups, communities, and organizations.

The Licensed Certified Social Worker (LCSW) must have a master of social work or a doctor of social work degree from a college or university approved or accredited by the CSWE and hold a current LMSW license. The LCSW must have received two years of SW experience provided by an LCSW prior to application for the LCSW exam. The LCSW candidate then must pass a clinical-level exam as prescribed by the Board.

All social work licensees will be required to obtain four (4) hours of approved professional ethics and two (2) hours of approved cultural diversity/multicultural issues/cultural competency continuing education hours for each renewal period. The continuing education offerings for each discipline (social workers and marriage and family therapists) are approved independently. Licensees should not assume that an approved offering for one discipline is also approved for the other discipline. The MBOE website maintains separate lists of approved continuing education offerings for social workers and marriage and family therapists.

LSW Requirements:

  • Education: Bachelor’s
  • ASWB Exam: Bachelor’s-Level
  • Supervision: N/A

LMSW Requirements:

  • Education: Master’s
  • Supervision: N/A
  • ASWB Exam: Master’s-Level

LCSW Requirements:

  • Education: Master’s
  • Supervision: 2 years
  • ASWB Exam: Clinical